Request call back

Want to Know more about our services?
Provide your contact info & we will call you back.

Date: 29-03-2024

Exploring the Routes of the Chardham Yatra

The Chardham Yatra, comprising four holy destinations in the Indian state of Uttarakhand, holds immense spiritual significance for Hindu pilgrims. This sacred pilgrimage encompasses visits to Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath, each revered for their connection to Hindu mythology and spirituality. Embarking on the Chardham Yatra is not just a physical journey but also a profound spiritual experience, promising purification of the soul and blessings from the divine.


Route Overview:




Starting point: Yamunotri is the first destination of the Chardham Yatra.


Location: Nestled amidst the Garhwal Himalayas, Yamunotri is dedicated to Goddess Yamuna.


Route: Pilgrims typically start from Rishikesh or Haridwar and travel towards Hanuman Chatti by road. From Hanuman Chatti, the journey continues on foot or by pony/mules to reach Yamunotri temple, situated at an altitude of 3,293 meters.




Second destination: After Yamunotri, the journey proceeds to Gangotri, the source of the sacred River Ganges.


Location: Gangotri is located in the Uttarkashi district of Uttarakhand.


Route: Pilgrims travel from Yamunotri to Gangotri by road, passing through picturesque landscapes and charming towns like Uttarkashi and Harsil. Gangotri temple, situated at an elevation of 3,100 meters, is the focal point of this leg of the journey.




Third destination: Kedarnath is revered as the abode of Lord Shiva and holds immense spiritual significance.


Location: Situated in the Rudraprayag district, Kedarnath is nestled amidst the majestic Himalayas.


Route: From Gangotri, pilgrims proceed towards Kedarnath via Uttarkashi and Guptkashi. The final stretch involves a trek or pony ride from Gaurikund to
Kedarnath temple, located at an altitude of 3,583 meters. This leg of the journey is known for its rugged terrain and breathtaking vistas.




Final destination: Badrinath, dedicated to Lord Vishnu, marks the culmination of the Chardham Yatra.


Location: Situated in the Chamoli district, Badrinath is surrounded by snow-capped peaks and pristine natural beauty.


Route: Pilgrims travel from Kedarnath to Badrinath via Guptkashi and Joshimath. The journey culminates at Badrinath temple, located at an altitude of 3,133 meters, amidst the serene backdrop of the Himalayas.




Chardham Yatra is not merely a physical journey but a spiritual odyssey that rejuvenates the soul and deepens one's connection with the divine. Traversing through the sacred destinations of Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath, pilgrims immerse themselves in prayer, rituals, and self-reflection, seeking blessings and enlightenment. The routes of the Chardham Tour offer not just a glimpse of majestic landscapes but also a pathway to inner peace and spiritual fulfillment.

Back To Top /* */